Contact Us
Norwalk Daily Voice serves Norwalk & Rowayton
Return to your home site


Norwalk Daily Voice serves Norwalk & Rowayton

Nearby Towns


Obama Declares Snow Disaster in Fairfield County

Cities and towns across the state will soon see a sign of snow relief after President Obama announced federal disaster aid Thursday night.

With back-to-back snowstorms that dumped record setting totals, Obama said he would make funds available to reimburse seven counties that dealt with the Jan. 11 and 12 storms. It includes Fairfield, New Haven, Hartford, New London, Litchfield, Tolland, together with Tribal Lands of Mashantucket Pequot and the Mohegan Tribal Nations in New London County.

Budgets across Fairfield County have been stretched by snow-removal costs. Federal aid will cover emergency protective measures and hazard mitigation measures across the state.

Westport's $410,000 snow removal budget was buried before February, and Norwalk had already spent $600,000 out of its $753,000 budget by the middle of the month. Greenwich allotted $700,000 and spent close to $800,000 in removal efforts.

Gov. Dannel Malloy asked Obama to declare a federal disaster on Feb. 22. Malloy said the snowfall amounts and expenses met levels set by the federal and state emergency officials.

Join the discussion below or on Facebook !

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Norwalk Daily Voice!

Serves Norwalk & Rowayton

This is a one time message inviting you to keep in touch

Get important news about your town as it happens.