2 Norwalk Cheerleading Teams Win National Titles In Orlando

  • Comment
Two Norwalk cheerleading teams celebrate after winning championships last weekend in Orlando, Fla. Photo Credit: Contributed
Norwalk's Division 10 cheerleaders pose with their championship trophy. Photo Credit: Contributed
Norwalk's Division 13 champions pose with their trophy. Photo Credit: Contributed
Girl on the Norwalk Division 10 team accept the championship trophy. Photo Credit: Contributed
A Norwalk Division 10 girl shows the team's championship trophy. Photo Credit: Contributed

NORWALK, Conn. – Two cheerleading teams from the Norwalk Junior Football and Cheer program won first place in the national championships held over the weekend in Orlando, Fla.

Norwalk won the Division 10 and Division 13 titles at the American Youth Football and Cheer national championships.

“The girls worked really hard this season,’’ said Nina Ruffin, commissioner of the Norwalk cheerleading program. “I think they really came together, not jut as a team, but also as a family.”

Norwalk’s 13-year-old team won the organization’s first regional title in November. The 10-year-old team finished second at regionals but took the top prize in Orlando.

“It was amazing to watch,’’ said Ruffin, who was unable to attend the Florida competition for personal reason. “I was watching the livestream on the web and I was on pins and needles. They went up against some very good teams.”

Ruffin is the head coach of the 13-year-old team,assisted by Kelcie Wehmhoff, Anne Asta and Charlette Lewis. Wehmhoff coaches the 10-year-old team with assistants Kelly Johnson and Nadine Moses, and student demonstrator Olivia Massucco.

Members of the D10 squad are E’yjah Bledsoe, Ariel Bruno, Morgan Carroll, Kira Diaz, Jordyn Dixon, Grace Fatone, Ava Greco, Ashley Johnson, Jordyn Kidd, Sadi Mantel-Sharkey, Josie Marshall, Rosie Marshall, Dwana Masheck, Olivia Moses, Grace Papadakos, Daisy Restrepo, Kori Saunders, Courtney Sharkey, Sara Spielman, Claudia Stuart, Diamond Taylor and Leah Washburn.

D13 members are: Rayna Aguiar, Evelyn Barragan, Kaitlyn Covello, Frankie Anne DeLeo, Caroline Desmonts, Daniella DiBlasio, Emily Dougherty, Lily Fosella, Summer Hall, Ma’Kiyah Henderson, Brianna Johnson, Sarah Joyner, Anna Korytnyuk, Mikayla Lewis, Kayla Light, Helena Morenberg, Jacqueline Moses, Sydney Mouzon, Hailey Parisi, Shiyonna Patterson, Jessica Pia, Serenity Saunders, Brynn Spielman, Damiana Tuck, Amanda Wasserman, Valentina Zuleta and Natalie Zullo.

  • Comment


In Other News


Gov. Malloy Calls For Improvements On Metro-North Schedule


Norwalk Community College President Pays Fine For Misuse Of Funds


Spring Temperatures Will Finally Return To Norwalk This Weekend