Home Site
Push Notifications
Contact Us
Norwalk Daily Voice serves Norwalk & Rowayton


Norwalk Daily Voice serves Norwalk & Rowayton

Nearby Towns


Rail Commuter Council Receives Honors

The members of the Connecticut Rail Commuter Council were honored by the state legislature for their work on behalf of the Metro-North riders in Connecticut. The recognition comes as the organization marks its 25th anniversary of service to commuters.

"It was tremendously thoughtful of these lawmakers to honor our efforts," said Jim Cameron of Darien, chairman of the council. "We occasionally get a 'thank you' from our fellow commuters, but this honor from the legislature is especially welcome as we mark our 25th anniversary."

The 13-member council is made up of Cameron, Roger Cirella, Terri Cronin, John Hartwell, Rodney Chabot, Laura Cordes, Mitch Fuchs, Robert Jelley, Jeff Maron, Sue Prosi, Drew Todd, Mark Maruszewski and Luke Schnirring.

Each member received an Official Citation, which read: "In recognition of your participation on the Connecticut Metro-North Rail Commuter Council as it celebrates its 25th anniversary. You have been an instrumental partner in efforts to improve rail service in Connecticut with solid organization, clear communication and effective advocacy. The citizens of Connecticut are much indebted to your efforts, enthusiasm and dedication to the Council."

The citations were introduced by state Reps. Terrie Wood, Larry Cafero, Gail Lavielle, Ernest Hewett, Edward Moukawsher, Bruce Morris, Chris Perone and Patricia Widlitz and state Sens. Bob Duff, Edward Meyer, Andrea Stillman, Carlo Leone and Toni Boucher.

What do you think of the work that has been done by the Connecticut Rail Commuter Council? Leave a comment below.

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Norwalk Daily Voice!

Serves Norwalk & Rowayton

This is a one time message inviting you to keep in touch

Get important news about your town as it happens.