NORWALK, Conn. - Fodor Farm will take part in in the ninth Annual Connecticut Open House Day on Saturday, June 14, the Norwalk Recreation and Parks Department announced.
Fodor Farm, located at 328 Flax Hill Road, will join more than 200 organizations and attractions statewide in a celebration of Connecticut’s world of art, history and cultural assets.
Visitors will be able to tour the original homestead built by Eliphalet Lockwood in 1809. They can view its rustic historic detail, from cupola to hand-hewn beams - some still with the original bark. Also on display will be a variety of planned and new additions to the farm. Visitors can tour the new barn-kitchen, orchard and Fairfield County’s first tree farm.
The Norwalk Tree Alliance will be there to show off its solar-powered irrigation shed that provides water to the plantings without using city resources. Trees grown here will eventually grace schools and parks throughout the city.
Exhibits will include a working beehive from beekeeper Jeff Schwartz. He’ll also be offering tastings and a chance to order honey.
Author Lisa Wilson Grant, a member of the Norwalk Historical Commission, will have drawings and plans for the Nathan Hale Memorial Fountain and Herb Garden and offer a sneak peak of her new book complete with early farm photos.
Suzanne Ancona - part of the core group of fundraisers - will be sharing her experiences in hosting events at the farm.
Food trucks LobsterCraft and Hot Off The Grill will be on the grounds, serving up their tasty fare.
Norwalk Land Trust and The Norwalk Preservation Trust will offer informal tours. The refurbished building will eventually be home to both organizations.
The original homestead was built by one of Connecticut’s Revolutionary forefathers. Capt. Eliphalet Lockwood served in Col. Charles Webb’s 7th Connecticut Regiment, the General Assembly of Connecticut and in the first U.S. Army.
For more information, visit the Fodor Farm website.